B-School Events

April 04, 2017 @ 01:15 PM

April 04, 2017 @ 01:15 PM

K. J. Somaiya Institute of Management Studies and Research, Mumbai

9 Easy Steps to register for SIMSR (Infographic)

Download Now

Apeejay School, Jalandhar Students Win Grand Finale of 'NASA Space Settlement Design Contest 2014'

  • Win carries an award of $2,500
  • Apeejay School students bring glory to the nation
  • Winning team interviewed by Warner  Bros Company for upcoming Hollywood movie
New Delhi, 27 May 2014: Six Class X students from Apeejay School, Jalandhar created history by winning the Grand Prize at the prestigious NASA Space Settlement Design Contest 2014. The students won the prize for their project VONA, overcoming competition from 562 entries submitted by 1,567 students from 19 countries across the world. 
VONA (Icelandic word denoting ‘hope’ and ‘faith’) comprised the blueprint of the Space Settlement on the aero-synchronous orbit of Mars transferred from the geosynchronous orbit of Earth after its successful construction. It took the students eight months to complete the 113-page project. The winning team comprised six students: Prajjwal Mahajan, Aditya Pratap Singh, Amareen Sandhu, Hatinderpal Singh Ghotra, Hetarth Chopra and Karan Chouhan.
The actualization of project VONA is timed to capture the Asteroid AMUN 3554 in 2061 and to earn a huge profit of $22 trillion (estimated) in order to keep the settlement running. After its completion in 2071, VONA will successfully house more than 16,000 people.
The contest winners were invited by the National Space Society (NSS) for the award ceremony and also to present their work at the International Space Development Conference (ISDC 2014) at Los Angeles, California, USA from 14–18 May 2014. At ISDC on 15 May, the students presented their winning poster design to the NASA scientist and astronauts. The students also received the ‘Bruce M. Clark Jr. Memorial Award’ of $2,500 and Apeejay School was awarded ‘Star Map Crystal Award’ for their outstanding performance. 
The VONA team also had the privilege of making a 12-minute presentation at ISDC, which was greeted with a standing ovation by the august gathering of NASA engineers, scientists and astronauts. Impressed by the students’ curiosity for space exploration, Richard Garriout (private astronaut and entrepreneur), Dr Buzz Aldrin (second man to walk on the moon) and Mr Chris Ferguson (director of crew and mission operations at Boeing, and ex-NASA astronaut) congratulated these students’ personally. Mr Ameet Verma from Indian Space Agency will also be gifting an astronomical telescope for the students of the school.
After the presentation, the VONA team members were interviewed by international production house Warner Brothers Company, which will be showcased in their upcoming movie ‘Interstella’ directed by Mr Christopher Nolan. The team was also interviewed by 20th Century Fox and Science Museum of Minnesota for their programme on ‘Space Colonization’, with the students being hired as orators in upcoming events. The students have also been invited to the 1st Caribbean Space Summit in October 2014 to be held at Puerto Rico. 
In collaboration with NSS, every year NASA organises a space settlement design contest, wherein students between 12 and 18 years (Class VII-XII) make innovative space settlement projects. Apeejay students, motivated by the principal Ms. Meera Javed, have been winning prizes at NASA for the past eight years, but this year was exceptional as the students won the highest award in this prestigious competition.
* * *
About NASA Space Settlement Design Contest: http://settlement.arc.nasa.gov/Contest/
About Apeejay Education Society 
Apeejay Education Society represents the social commitment of the Apeejay Stya & Svrán Group – a leading industrial and investment house with interests in diverse business verticals in India and abroad. Seeking to promote quality education in India, the Society was established in 1967 by Dr Stya Paul – an eminent industrialist, educationist, freedom fighter and philanthropist. Beginning with a small school at Jalandhar in Punjab in 1968, Apeejay Schools and institutes of higher learning have now spread to other regions of the country. Under the leadership of its President, Mrs Sushma Paul Berlia (the only daughter of Dr Stya Paul), the Society now runs 13 schools and 16 institutions of higher learning spread across 25 campuses, with more than 40,000 students. The Group has also established the Apeejay Stya University, India’s first liberal arts university.
For further more details you may please visit : http://www.apeejay.edu/jalandhar/index.php
Stay informed, Stay ahead and stay inspired with MBA Rendezvous

Crucial Dates, You Should not Miss

Manav Rachna International Institute
of Research

Admissions Open for all MBA programme at Manav Rachna International Institute of
Research and Studies.
CII School of Logistics Amity University, Delhi and Mumbai
Admissions Open at CII School of Logistics Delhi and Mumbai campus, Apply Now!
GITAM School of International Business, Visakhapatnam
Admissions open for MBA programmes at GITAM. Application Deadline is February 20, 2018
Application Last Date for Online Submission - February 25, 2018
TAPMI, Manipal
Last date extended to 11 February, 2018. Apply Now.
BIMTECH, Greater Noida
Admissions open at BIMTECH, Greater Noida
ICFAI Business School
Admissions Open at ICFAI Business School Apply Now!
FORE School of Management
Apply for PGDM & PGDM-IB Programmes. Application Deadline is January 18, 2018.
MDI Murshidabad
Applications for PGPM 2018-20 at MDI Murshidabad are open
Last Date to Apply for MBA (Full Time) Programme at NIRMA is January 29, 2018
Institute of Public Enterprise, Hyderabad
Last Date to Apply for IPE, Hyderabad is 21st January, 2018
IMI New Delhi
Admissions Reopened for PGDM Last Date to Apply January 21, 2018
Application closes on February 12, 2018 for Executive PGDM at IMI
K J Somaiya Institute of Management Studies & Research, Mumbai
Last date for Application is 31st Jan, 2018
Application for PGDM 2018-20 at SDMIMD is open till February 28, 2018

Admission Open Now

Following Colleges are accepting applications.


Admissions open for 2018-20

PGDM, PGDM (HRM), PGDM(B & FS), Executive PGDM

Apply Online