General Awareness

April 04, 2017 @ 01:15 PM

Reserve Bank of India-Directing the flow of currency in India

The central banking institution of India that controls the monetary policy of Indian currency (rupee) and currency reserves of US$ 300.21 billion is called as the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). The RBI was set up on 1st April, 1935, a time when Bruisers ruled in India. It lies in accordance with provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 and plays an eminent part in various government development strategies. It was nationalized in the year 1949 and is currently a member of Asian Clearing Union. 

A dramatic economic turbulence after the First World War shook up the world. India was no exception to it. In response and on the recommendations of the Hilton-Young Commission the Reserve Bank of India was established. Though the Hilton-Young commission submitted the report in 1926, it took around nine more years to set up RBI. Its basic functions as described by the Preamble of the Reserve Bank of India are- to regulate the issue of bank notes, to keep reserves with a view to secure monetary stability in India and to operate the currency and credit system in the best interests of the country. 
Initially established in Kolkata, Bengal, the central office of the Reserve Bank of India was later permanently moved to Mumbai in the year 1937. Though initially, RBI was set up as a shareholders’ bank, it has been completely owned by the government of India since its nationalization in 1949.
The main governing body of RBI is the “Central Board of Directors”. These directors are appointed by the Government of India for the tenure of 4 years. This board consists of a governor, four deputy governors, four directors that represent the regional boards, and ten more directors from various fields. Being the 22nd link of the chain, Dr. Subbarao is currently serving as the Governor of RBI.
RBI consists of four regional representations- North in New Delhi, South in Chennai, East in Kolkata and West in Mumbai. These representations are formed by five members that are appointed for 4 years by the central government. Apart from this there are 22 branch offices of RBI all over the country. RBI also has two training colleges for its officers, namely Reserve Bank Staff College located at Chennai, Tamil Nadu and College of Agricultural Banking situated at Pune, Maharashtra. There also exist four Zonal Training Centres at Belapur, Chennai, Kolkata and New Delhi.
The Bank has the sole right to issue bank notes of all denominations, entitled Under Section 22 of the Reserve Bank of India Act. The distribution of one rupee notes, one rupee coins and small coins all over the country is undertaken by RBI as an agent of the Government of India. It has a separate Issue Department which is responsible for the issue of currency notes. Ensuring a smooth flow of functioning, assets and liabilities of the Issue Department are kept separate from those of the Banking Department. RBI issues, exchanges and destroys currency and coins that are not fit for circulation with an objective of giving adequate supply of currency of good quality to the public.
Besides being the main monetary authority of the country RBI also acts as the bank of the state and national governments. Monetary policies are formulated, implemented and monitored by RBI which is also entitled to ensure an adequate flow of credits to productive sectors. 
The Reserve bank of India also has certain non-monetary functions such as supervision of banks and promotion of sound banking in India besides its traditional central banking functions. The Reserve Bank Act, 1934, and the Banking Regulation Act, 1949 have empowered RBI with wide powers of supervision and control over commercial and co-operative banks. These powers include licensing and establishments, liquidity of assets, amalgamation, branch expansion, reconstruction, management & methods of working, and liquidation. The RBI is authorized to carry out periodical inspections of the banks and to ask for returns and required information from them. Due to the nationalization of 14 major Indian scheduled banks in 1969, RBI has an additional responsibility for directing the growth of banking and credit policies. 
Indeed, RBI’s supervisory functions have helped a lot in improving the standard of banking in India and also to improve in terms of the methods of their operation.
For such topics of Basic understanding on the subject matter which will keep you motivated to crack  CAT 2011 along with various other MBA entrance tests. This would also be useful for extempore speaking , please keep on visiting Portal with Management by objective approach.

Crucial Dates, You Should not Miss

TAPMI, Manipal
Admission Application closes on January 16, 2018 for 2018-20
BIMTECH, Greater Noida
Admissions open for PGDM Programmes at BIMTECH. Apply Now !
Lal Bahadur Shastri Institute of Management
Admissions are Open at LBSIM, Delhi. Apply Now !
FORE School of Management
Apply for PGDM & PGDM-IB Programmes. Application Deadline is December 22, 2017.
Goa Institute of Management
PGDM Admissions Open at GIM. Apply Before January 5, 2018
Last Date to Apply for MBA (Full Time) Programme at NIRMA is January 09, 2018
XAT 2018
Application Last Date 30th November 2017
IMI New Delhi
Application closes 4th December 2017
XIM Bhubaneshwar
Last Date 8th December 2017
SIBM Bengaluru
Apply for SNAP 2017 to be held on Dec 17 and apply for SIBM-Bengaluru through the SNAP Form
Institute of Rural Management Anand
IRMASAT will be conducted on February 4,2018, Apply Before December 31,2017
IBSAT 2017
Last date for IBSAT registration is December 12 , 2017
Last date to register for SNAP is 24th November, 2017. Last date for SSBF is 2nd January 2018
SIBM Hyderabad
Apply for SNAP 2017 to be held on Dec 17 and apply for SIBM-Hyderabad through the SNAP Form
K J Somaiya Institute of Management Studies & Research, Mumbai
Last date for Application is 31st Jan, 2018
Application for PGDM 2018-20 at SDMIMD is open till February 28, 2018
Institute of Management Technology
Application closes on November 24, 2017
MDI Murshidabad
Application for PGPM 2018-20 at MDI Murshidabad is open till November 24, 2017

Admission Open Now

Following Colleges are accepting applications.


Admissions open for 2018-20

PGDM, PGDM (HRM), PGDM(B & FS), Executive PGDM

Apply Online