Published: Friday, 01 April, 2016 6:00 PM


MICA, India’s premier B-school for Strategic Marketing and Communication, hosted its Annual Awards Ceremony for the 21st batch of the Post Graduate Diploma in Management - Communications (PGDM-C) and the 25th batch of the Crafting Creative Communication (CCC) programme today, at the Mani Ayer Auditorium on MICA campus. The Chief Guest for the Ceremony was Mr. Saurabh Varma, CEO South Asia, Leo Burnett. Mr. Varma is also a MICA PGDM-C alumnus of 1997 batch.

Every year MICA recognises students who perform exceedingly well in academics, extracurricular activities and those who undertake other major activities like dissertation writing and live projects. Broadly the categories include excellence in the PGDM-C specialisations such as Advertising Management, Brand Management, Digital Communication Management, Marketing Research and Analytics and Media Management. Apart from this, separate awards are given out for the best rural research projects, best dissertations, all round achievers, best campaigns of the year etc.

MICA Awards

Preceding the awards ceremony, the chief guest Mr. Varma planted a sapling keeping with the MICA tradition. The ceremony began with brief introduction of the event by Mr. Sethu Iyer, Executive Registrar of MICA. Following this, Ms. Elina Rath, the outgoing President of MICA Council for Student Affairs (MCSA) presented a bouquet of flowers to the Chief Guest and Dr. Preeti Shroff, Dean MICA presented a Memento to the Chief Guest.

Dr. Preeti Shroff, Dean MICA, warmly welcomed the guests in her speech. She said, “MICA is special for inculcating in its students a quest for lifelong learning and community values and I am honored to send off next generation leaders and global citizens who aim to make the world a better place.” Dr. Shroff thanked the MICA faculty for their contribution and added, “For the academic excellence awards that our students receive today, we all need to celebrate the education and learning that they received from MICA faculty members.” Dr. Shroff then introduced the Chief Guest and invited him on the stage to deliver his address.


While addressing the students, Mr Varma spoke passionately about his journey after MICA. He said, “I remember sitting on the other side of the podium and having mixed feelings during my convocation. The world outside MICA is an adventure and the key to succeeding is defining a purpose for oneself. In the world outside, hierarchies are challenged and grades do not determine everything, so having a purpose to guide oneself and finding the right place that has a culture that one thrives in, is the key to success. Curiosity, adaptability and the right mentorship will help you in achieving success as you step outside. Always ask yourself, If not me then who? If not now, then when?”

Post the fuelling speech, the ceremony kick-started and achievers were duly recognized with cash awards, trophies and certificates, while proud parents beamed from amongst the audience. A list of awardees is attached separately with this press note.

MICA Hosts awards

The event concluded with the presentation of a show-reel of the creative work of the students of 25th batch of CCC, followed by the vote of thanks by Mr. Sethu Iyer, Executive Registrar of MICA.

The campus is now gearing up for the final function of the academic year, its 21stconvocation which is scheduled to take place at the MICA lawns tomorrow evening (i.e. Saturday, April 2, 2016).




  1. Mani Ayer Award of Academic Excellence in Advertising Management  Specialisation Topper  in term IV, V and VI of PGDM-C 2014-16


Aashima Rathi

  1. AAAI Raman Memorial Trophy (Scholarships) for Runner- up & Topper in Advertising Management Specialisation in the PGDM-C 2014-16


Runner Up:Deepika Salwankar

Topper: Ashima Rathee

  1. Subhas Ghosal Award of Academic Excellence in Brand Management Specialisation Topper in term IV, V and VI of PGDM-C 2014-16


Deeksha Shetty

  1. Communication Topper for consistent and excellent response to communication curriculum of PGDM-C 2014-16


Vaishnavi Raje

  1. PGDM-C Rural Research Awards for Team

         2nd Runner-up   

         1st Runner-up  



Runners up: Charan, Shrey, sumana, shravya (team 1)

Piyush Sinha, suraj, pulkit tiwari, divya vaidyanathan

1st: Sanidhya, naishadham, sahil, mrinal parekh

  1. Marketing Research & Analytics Specialisation Topper in in term IV, V and VI  of PGDM-C 2014-16


1st: Maitreyee das,Shivangini Mukherjee, Aditya Naishadam

  1. Digital Communication Management Specialisation Topper  of PGDM-C 2014-16

Vismaya Jain

  1. Digital Communication Management Project Topper of PGDM-C 2014-16


Roopkatha Nag

  1. Media Management Specialisation Topper in term IV, V and VI of PGDM-C 2014-16


Shrey saraswat

  1. Best Awards for Advanced Courses


Arathi nair

  1. Best Dissertation Awards


1:Hardeek Shah

2:Aakanksha Garg

3:Tarishi Mishra

  1. Allied Publishers Subscription Agency Award for KEIC Best User for PGDM-C 2014-16 and  PGCPCCC 2015-16


Pgp: Hardeek Shah

CCC: Dheeraj Reddy

  1. Satpal Singh Virdi Memorial  Cash award for the best all rounder of the graduating batch of PGDM-C 2014-16


Ellina Rath

  1. “SapientNitro Digital Scholarship Excellence for the best three thesis in Digital Communications Management of PGDM-C 2014-16

         2nd Runner-up                      

         1st Runner-up  



1:Sumanna Talla

2:Utkarsh verma

3:Gunjan Batra

  1. Divya Bhaskar Scholarship of Academic Excellence in Media Management Specialisation for PGDM-C 2014-16 ( Runner-up & Topper in term IV, V & VI) 


1:Shrey saraswat

2:Mohit Gosain

  1. Director’s Award for Academic Excellence for maintaining CGPA of 3.30 consistently for the first and second year of PGDM-C 2014-16


Winners: Srishti Agarwal

Vaishnavi Raje

  1. Campaign of the year in PGCPCCC 2015-16



Runner up :Sonal Choudhary

Winner : Tushara Panicker

Stay informed, Stay ahead and stay inspired with MBA Rendezvous